FIND OUT MORE ABOUT HIS BACKGROUND

DISCOVER THEIR BACKGROUND

BIOGRAPHY

Julien Alvarez is a World Pastry Champion and the Executive Chef at Ladurée.

Julien Alvarez has always been immersed in the world of gastronomy: his father was a chef in the South-West of France. However, he initially followed a general school curriculum, and only turned to cooking after graduating from High School. He then set off on an apprenticeship, first tempted by cooking, then persuaded by an excellent Bergerac pastry chef to try his hand at the world of sweets.

After completing his four-year apprenticeship, he moved to Barcelona to work in an avant-garde pastry shop for 2 years, before being approached by Angelo Musa to launch the "Pâtisserie des Rêves". He then worked as an instructor at the Bellouet Conseil school for 3 years, before becoming Head Pastry Chef at the Peninsula Hotel in Paris when it opened.It was then he discovered the hotel and restaurant pastry business.

Two years later, Julien became Executive Chef at Café Pouchkine, but was soon approached by Eric Fréchon to take over Laurent Jeannin's position as Pastry Chef at Le Bristol in Paris. After 4 years at the famous Parisian palace, he returned to boutique pastry-making and became the International Executive Chef at Ladurée, known worldwide for its macaroons.

Julien Alvarez has always had a competitive spirit: a keen sportsman (he studied cycling), he has been interested in competitions since his apprenticeship. In 2011, he won the prestigious World Pastry Cup with the Spanish team.

For VOILA CHEF, Julien Alvarez reveals the secrets of luxury patisserie and teaches us three recipes ideal for a gourmet Christmas: citrus tartlets, inspired by oriental baklavas, macarons with spicy speculoos cookie flavors and an intensely vanilla pecan yule log.

Pastry

discover the greatest experts
in their respective fields

DÉCOUVREZ SON PARCOURS

DÉCOUVREZ LEUR PARCOURS

BIOGRAPHIE

Julien Alvarez est Champion du Monde de Pâtisserie et Chef exécutif de la maison Ladurée.

S’il a toujours baigné dans l’univers de la gastronomie, né d’un père cuisinier du Sud-Ouest, Julien Alvarez effectue d’abord un cursus scolaire général et ne s’oriente vers la cuisine qu’après le bac. Il part alors en apprentissage, d’abord tenté par la cuisine puis convaincu par un excellent pâtissier de Bergerac de s’essayer au monde du sucré.

Ses quatre années d’apprentissage finies, il part travailler à Barcelone dans une pâtisserie avant-gardiste, pendant 2 ans, avant d’être contacté par Angelo Musa pour le lancement de la Pâtisserie des Rêves. Il travaille ensuite en tant que formateur au sein de l'école Bellouet Conseil pendant 3 ans, puis devient Chef pâtissier de l’hôtel Peninsula à Paris à son ouverture, et y découvre l’hôtellerie et la pâtisserie de restaurant.

Deux ans plus tard, Julien devient Chef exécutif du Café Pouchkine, mais est très vite contacté par Eric Fréchon pour succéder à Laurent Jeannin au poste de Chef pâtissier du Bristol à Paris. Après 4 années au sein du célèbre palace parisien, il retourne vers la pâtisserie de boutique en devenant Chef exécutif international de la maison Ladurée, connue dans le monde entier pour ses macarons.

Julien Alvarez a toujours eu l’esprit compétitif : très sportif (il a été en sport-étude vélo), il s’intéresse dès son apprentissage aux concours. En 2011, il remporte ainsi la prestigieuse Coupe du Monde de Pâtisserie avec l’équipe d’Espagne.

Pour VOILA CHEF, Julien Alvarez nous fait découvrir les secrets de la pâtisserie de luxe et nous enseigne trois recettes idéales pour un Noël gourmand et festif : des tartelettes aux agrumes inspirées des baklavas orientales, des macarons aux saveurs épicées de biscuit spéculoos et une bûche intensément vanillée aux noix de pécan.

Pâtisserie

découvrez les plus grands experts
dans leur domaine