FIND OUT MORE ABOUT HIS BACKGROUND

DISCOVER THEIR BACKGROUND

BIOGRAPHY

Nicolas Cloiseau was awarded the title of Best Craftsman of France (MPF), Chocolatier Confectioner in 2007 and is the Chef of La Maison du Chocolat.

Immersed in the world of gastronomy since his childhood, Nicolas Cloiseau quickly voiced his preference for the sweet side: for him, training to become a pastry chef was an obvious choice. He earned a CAP in pastry making, then a master's degree in pastry making where he discovered the boundless possibilities the science of chocolate had to offer. He then started working at La Maison du Chocolat as a chocolate worker. In 2000, after working there for four years and having explored all the different job positions, he was entrusted by the company's founder, Robert Linxe, with the creation of artistic pieces for the holidays.

This approach to chocolate earned him several prizes in competitions: second in the Pascal Caffet Trophy in 2001, first in the Arpajon gastronomic competition in 2003, first prize for the artistic piece in the World Chocolate Master in 2005. He then decided to enter the Best Craftsman of France competition (MOF), which he won in 2007. 

In 2012, Nicolas Cloiseau became Chef of La Maison du Chocolat and took over from Gilles Marchal. He now has the daunting task of preserving the company's iconic recipes while continuously innovating. He also works on ephemeral collections: four wordly collections (Valentine's Day, Easter, Summer, Christmas) and six collections that are specific to subsidiaries in foreign countries (Halloween and Thanksgiving in the United States, White Day and Cherry Blossom in Japan, Chinese New Year and Moon Festival in Hong Kong). Lastly, he also works on long term projects, like on research and development (collaborations with perfumers, salted chocolates, vegetarian chocolates...). His work also takes him to plantations, to meet producers, to select beans and raw materials.

For VOILA CHEF, Nicolas Cloiseau teaches you how to tame chocolate through three chocolate creations: caramel & chocolate-flavored truffles, white chocolate flowers and a dark chocolate egg-shaped bonbonniere.

Chocolate Confectionery

discover the greatest experts
in their respective fields

DÉCOUVREZ SON PARCOURS

DÉCOUVREZ LEUR PARCOURS

BIOGRAPHIE

Nicolas Cloiseau est Meilleur Ouvrier de France chocolatier confiseur 2007 et Chef de La Maison du Chocolat.

Baigné dès son enfance dans le milieu de la gastronomie, Nicolas Cloiseau s’oriente très vite vers le sucré : pour lui, s’engager dans une formation de pâtissier est une évidence. Il passe un CAP pâtissier, puis un brevet de maîtrise en pâtisserie où il découvre le potentiel de la science du chocolat. Il commence alors à travailler à La Maison du Chocolat en tant qu’ouvrier chocolatier. En 2000, au bout de quatre ans et après avoir exploré tous les postes, il se voit confier par le fondateur, Robert Linxe, la création des pièces artistiques pour les fêtes.

Cette approche du chocolat lui vaut plusieurs prix lors de concours : deuxième du Trophée Pascal Caffet en 2001, premier au concours gastronomique d’Arpajon en 2003, premier prix de la pièce artistique du World Chocolate Master en 2005. Il décide alors de passer le concours de Meilleur Ouvrier de France, qu’il obtient en 2007. 

En 2012, Nicolas Cloiseau devient Chef de La Maison du Chocolat, succédant ainsi à Gilles Marchal. Il a alors la lourde tâche d’entretenir les recettes iconiques tout en innovant continuellement. Il travaille également sur des collections éphémères, quatre dans le Monde (Saint Valentin, Pâques, Eté, Noël) et six propre aux filiales des pays étrangers (Halloween et Thanksgiving aux Etats-Unis, White Day et Cherry Blossom au Japon, le Nouvel An Chinois et la Fête de la Lune à Hong Kong). Enfin, sur le long terme, il travaille à la recherche et développement du groupe (collaborations avec des parfumeurs, chocolats salés, chocolats végétariens…). Son travail l’amène aussi à se rendre dans des plantations, à rencontrer des producteurs, à sélectionner les fèves et les matières premières.

Pour VOILA CHEF, Nicolas Cloiseau vous apprend à dompter le chocolat à travers trois réalisations chocolatées : des truffes chocolat caramel, des fleurs en chocolat blanc et un oeuf bonbonnière en chocolat noir.

Chocolat Confiserie

découvrez les plus grands experts
dans leur domaine